First Year Panther Plan: Fall Workshops

First-Year Office of Academic Advising Workshops (FALL SEMESTER ONLY)

Fall 2021 workshop dates are listed below. More information will be available in August 2021.
 

All first-year students with an Office of Academic Advising advisor are required to attend three workshops during the Fall 2021 semester. These events are designed to give you tools and resources to be successful as a first year student. 
Are you a College of Business major? Click here for information on workshops for Business majors. 
Are you a College of Education (Elementary Education, Early Childhood Education, and Middle Level Education) major? Click here for more information.

 

Workshop 1 - Week of August 30

Topics: Communicating with professors via email, using your course syllabi, time management, and study strategies.
When? Attend one of the following:

  • Monday, August 30, 3:00-4:00pm (Zoom)
  • Tuesday, August 31, 3:30-4:30pm (McCollum 137)
  • Wednesday, September 1, 3:00-4:00pm (McCollum 137)
  • Thursday, September 2, 3:30-4:30pm  (Zoom)

Workshop 2 - Week of September 27

Topics: Grades - what are they telling you?
When? Attend one of the following: 

  •  Monday, September 27, 3:00-4:00pm
  •  Tuesday, September 28, 3:30-4:30pm
  •  Wednesday, September 29, 3:00-4:00pm
  •  Thursday, September 30, 3:30-4:30pm

Workshop 3 - Week of October 25

Topics: Tools to prepare for spring semester registration
When? Attend one of the following:

  • Monday, October 25, 3:00-4:00pm
  • Tuesday, October 26, 3:30-4:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 27, 3:00-4:00pm
  • Thursday, October 28, 3:30-4:30pm

How do I get credit for attending the workshops? 

You must do two things to get credit for attending:

  1. Attend one of the meetings for each workshop! We’ll take attendance at each session session to verify that you came.

  2. Complete the survey after the event.

Questions? Contact Kim in the Office of Academic Advising at 319-273-3406 or academic-advising@uni.edu!